Happy Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day to all of you, and for those of you who hate this stupid holiday, you can blame Geoffrey Chaucer (yes, that Chaucer) for our romantic entanglements being linked to this Martyred Saint.  You can also blame some stupid American for inventing the mass-production of Valentine’s cards (before that they were just handwritten notes), and most of the other big business involved in the whole thing only dates back to the 1980’s or so, so ignore the chocolates and diamonds and all the other crap we’re supposed to hand out today, if you want to.  The tradition is only 25 years old. 

Anyway, on to other things.  Yesterday was the best day in history for views of this Blog, 10 whole people showed up.  That is pretty fucking awesome.  It’s sad that 10 people makes my day, but it’s better than none.  Whether any of those people come back to read more, who knows?  But at least they were here. 

Got some more feedback on Paradox Magic yesterday as well.  My best friend Troy finished reading it (this doesn’t seem as monumental as it really is, you’d have to know Troy and know that he doesn’t normally read anything, but is really big on Book on Tape (or CD) as he is a truck driver… Anyway).  He really enjoyed the book, particularly the huge fight at the end of the thing.  He had some other feedback and I think still prefers my first book more, he said this one, and I’m paraphrasing here, seemed like too straight a shot from beginning to end, there’s less extemporaneous stuff going on in the background.  Now, that was partly done on purpose, I wanted to write a simple book that was easy to grasp as a whole.  But, I think I may have gone a little too far, so I’m hoping adding the shorts about the magicians and fleshing out the female lead a bit more will help with all of that.  Also, I made a ton of typos (“of” instead of “or” hte instead of the, you know, the usual stuff when you’re typing 80 words a minute for 109,000 words) which really pulled him out of the story, so I have to go back and really watch for that the next time through.  My grandfather (also a writer) and my dad both finished it as well, I’m really excited to see what they think of the whole thing.  Even, and this is huge, my mom started to read it.  She hasn’t read anything I’ve written that was longer than 5 pages in years, decades almost.  I can’t wait for her to get to the bad ass stuff.

Other than that, I’m looking forward to this weekend, Shanna and I are going to see a movie (either Jumper or Definately Maybe), and I think we’re going down to see her parents on Saturday.  We haven’t seen them since Christmas, so it should be a nice visit.

Time to get back to whatever it is I’m doing, see you all on the other side of this darkened tunnel of a day.

-m

Leave a Reply

