Happy Goth Christmas, Samhain, All Hallow’s Eve, and even Halloween

Okay, two posts in one month, that’s not so bad, really.  Maybe get it up to one a week if I really put forth some effort.

So it’s Halloween (or Hallowe’en if you prefer) the night where we all dress up and pretend to be something else, either scary or wish fulfillment or whatever you can find around the house, and send our kids out to procure us some candy (well they get some too), while doing our best to scare the crap out of the little kids that come to our own doors.  Or is that just me? 

I have to say this is the most un-halloweeny halloween in my recent memory.  I have barely done any decorations around the house, the outside of the house has a few of the store bought things but not my usual extravaganza.  Which by the way is an awesome word.  I didn’t even buy pumpkins till last night.  So tonight is all about the kids, at least until they go to bed and lie staring at the ceiling enjoying their sugar highs.  After that I have a party I might attend, that’s a bit up in the air just yet but we’ll see.  Tomorrow I think we might head down to a club and enjoy the local freak scene. 

For the record I love Halloween and have a homemade costume which I think is pretty kick ass, I’ll post pictures of it, assuming any get taken. 

I had a thought a paragraph or so back about why we like dressing up, but it’s gone now and probably wasn’t that interesting anyway.  Oh well. 

In other news, I am participating in my first Nanowrimo ever, although I thought about doing it last year.  For those who don’t know, it’s the annual online contest/support group/insane asylum for all of us undiscovered writers.  The idea is to write a 50,000 word novel in one month.  Nanowrimo stands for National Novel Writing Month.  The word count seems a little high, but it’s really not when you break it down, it’s only 1,667 words per day.  Fuck it, it is insane.  I have prepared my family for the incredible lack of time they will spend with me for the next thirty days, and expect to be a zombie at work most of the time, but I’m going to do it.  In true nanowrimo fashion I have no idea what I’m going to write about, which may be good for me.  I’ve spent way too much time thinking about all things Paradox Magic lately and not nearly enough thinking about new ideas and new characters. 

Speaking of new ideas, Tyrant’s first script is actually in the can and Andy is busy drawing pages in his spare time, so with any luck I should have some stuff to post here for that soon too.  I can’t wait, as I’m sure I’ve said before the first couple of panels he’s done look fantastic.

Okay, I think that’s all for now, I’m sure I’ll be bitching on here in no time about the disaster i’ve made of my nanowrimo, but until then I bid all of you a happy Halloween and a safe evening.

-m

One thought on “Happy Goth Christmas, Samhain, All Hallow’s Eve, and even Halloween

  1. Pingback: Fashion News » Blog Archive » Happy Goth Christmas, Samhain, All Hallow’s Eve, and even Halloween

Leave a Reply

